image:About RWC 2019


The Rugby World Cup is held once in every four years to determine the best nation in rugby union.
Players all over the world dream about playing at this prestigious stage. The 7-week tournament is considered as one of the three biggest sporting events in the world together with the Summer Olympic Games and the FIFA World Cup.



Tournament Period
From Friday, 20 September to Saturday, 2 November 2019

Opening matchFriday, 20 September

Final matchSaturday, 2 November

Participating teams
Total 20 teams

1. Teams qualified to date

112 teams
Japan, Ireland, Argentina, Italy, England, Wales, Australia, Georgia, Scotland, New Zealand, France, South Africa

2. Teams yet not qualified

8 teams

Tournament format
Total 48 matches

1. Pool Stage

Five 4-team pools (Round Robin): 40 matches

2. Knockout Stage

Quarterfinals / Semifinals / Third-place match / Final : 8 matches