September 14, 2017

The 2017 New Cosmos of Photography Exhibition — Grand Prize selection open committee meeting and artists’ talk to be held during exhibition period

The 2017 New Cosmos of Photography Tokyo Exhibition will present Excellence Award-winning works by seven artists and Honorable Mention works by 11 artists, who were selected among the 1,705 entrants of the 2017 40th competition. An exhibition of new works by 2016 Grand Prize winner, Kim Sajik, will be held simultaneously.
On Friday, November 10, the Grand Prize selection committee will hold a public meeting to select the Grand Prize winner among the seven Excellence Award
On Saturday, October 21, the Excellence Award winners and Honorable Mention winners will present their works and the intentions behind their creation during the artists’ talk.

1. The 2017 New Cosmos of Photography Tokyo Exhibition

Date: Saturday, October 21 – Sunday, November 19, 2017 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.
(Open Thursday and Friday until 8 p.m. and closed on Monday)

Venue: Tokyo Photographic Art Museum (Exhibition Room on B1F)
1-13-3 Mita, Meguro-ku, Tokyo (inside Ebisu Garden Place)
TEL 03-3280-0099
Approximately 7-minute walk from the East Exit of JR Ebisu station or 10-minute walk from Exit 1 of Ebisu station on the Tokyo Metro Hibiya Line
Admission: Free
Exhibiting artists: Excellence Award winners of the 2017 40th competition
Seven Excellence Award winners
Giancarlo Shibayama, Trond Ansten & Benjamin Breitkopf, 214, Hana Sawada, Kanako Shokuda, Ai Mizobuchi, Azusa Yamaguchi (Honorific titles omitted)
Honorable Mention winners : 11 artists
Organizer: Canon Inc.
Co-organizer: Tokyo Photographic Art Museum
Also scheduled: Kim Sajik Exhibition :“the Night of a Full Moon, a Man Builds a Grave and a Woman Eats Pinecones.”

(Grand Prize winner of the 39th competition, 2016)

2. Grand Prize selection open committee meeting

Date: Friday, November 10, 2017 3 p.m. – 6 p.m.
Venue: Tokyo Metropolitan Museum of Photography 1F Hall
Capacity: 180 on a first-come-first-served basis
Admission: Free (advanced reservation required)

* For advanced reservation required, please refer to the news to be published in Tuesday, October 3.

Judges: Alec Soth (Photographer)
Sandra Phillips (Curator, The San Francisco Museum of Modern Art)
Dayanita Singh (Artist)
Yoshihiko Ueda (Photographer)
Hiraki Sawa (Artist)
Tomoko Sawada (Artist)
Minoru Shimizu (Photo critic)

3. Artists’ Talk

Date and time: Saturday, October 21, 2017
Part 1: 2:30 to 3:30 p.m.
Part 2: 4:00 to 5:30 p.m.
Venue: Tokyo Metropolitan Museum of Photography (Exhibition Room on B1F)
Admission: Free (anyone may join and listen)
Schedule: Part 1: The 11 Honorable Mention Award winners from 2017 introduce their works and talk about the intentions behind their creations.
Part 2: The seven Excellence Award winners from 2017 and the 2016 Grand Prize winner introduce themselves, present the intentions behind the creation of their works.

2017 (40th contest) Excellence Award-winning works


Hana Sawada “Gesture of Rally #1705”
(selected by Sandra Phillips)


Giancarlo Shibayama “I traveled on an island”
(selected by Alec Soth)


Kanako Shokuda “Tiny Tenderness”
(selected by Hiraki Sawa)


Trond Ansten & Benjamin Breitkopf “17 toner hvitt”
(selected by Toshio Shibata)


214 “The collection of encounters”
(selected by Dayanita Singh)


Ai Mizobuchi “ID”
(selected by Tomoko Sawada)


Azusa Yamaguchi “me and my grandfather”
(selected by Minoru Shimizu)