News Release

November 2, 2015
Canon Inc.

Canon EF11-24mm f/4L USM lens, EOS M3 camera honored with Design for Asia Awards

TOKYO, November 2, 2015—Canon Inc. announced today that the Company's EF11-24mm f/4L USM ultra-wide-angle interchangeable zoom lens and EOS M3 digital compact-system camera were recognized for design excellence by the Hong Kong Design Centre,1 winning the Design for Asia Bronze Award and Merit Recognition Award, respectively.

EF11-24mm f/4L USM


The Bronze Award-winning EF11-24mm f/4L USM boasts an impressive minimum focal length of 11 mm to achieve the world's widest angle of view.2 Thanks to the optimal placement of four aspherical elements, including a ground aspherical element, the lens corrects for aberrations that often occur with wide-angle lenses to make possible superior image-quality performance from edge to edge. The EF11-24mm f/4L USM offers such noteworthy design characteristics as a foremost element featuring proportions that make it instantly identifiable as an ultra-wide-angle lens, superior usability that has been optimized for shooting, and a refined surface finish.

The EOS M3, winner of the Merit Recognition Award, combines an approximately 24.2-megapixel APS-C-size CMOS sensor with the Company's latest image processor, DIGIC 6, to deliver high-resolution, high-quality imaging performance. Realizing exceptional operability, the compact-system camera incorporates four dedicated function dials—Mode, Exposure Compensation, Front and Control dials—facilitating intuitive manual operations similar to those offered by EOS-series digital SLR cameras.

Encouraged by this latest industry recognition, Canon will continue striving to create products that combine the highest levels of performance and design excellence.

About the Design for Asia Awards

Design for Asia Awards celebrate design excellence, honoring and acknowledging companies and individuals for outstanding designs that offer commercial and societal success and have the potential to impact Asia. Launched in Hong Kong in 2003, the accolades have grown to become an Asia-based platform for inspiring designers worldwide. Winners of the 2015 Design for Asia Awards were selected from among design entries produced and commercially launched by companies from 24 countries and regions between January 1, 2013, and May 31, 2015, in one or more Asian markets. Design for Asia Awards comprise Grand, Gold, Silver, Bronze and Merit Recognition Awards, as well as various special awards.

  • 1A publicly funded, non-profit organization established in 2002 with the support of the design industry.
  • 2Among lenses for interchangeable-lens cameras (SLR and compact-system cameras). As of October 30, 2015, based on a Canon survey. Excludes fisheye lenses.